Hong Kong Bakery & Bistro

P1010561

I wen to the Hong Kong Bakery & Bistro for the second time in two weeks. I wrote about my first visit for All Over Albany, and you can check out all of the delicious dim sum goodies I got on my solo visit there.

My dad & My Other Mom were up for the weekend, and after an entire day of picnicking and gorging, we wound up at the Hong Kong Bakery for dinner. We got some of their tea, which is a pleasantly floral jasmine. Very high notes and refreshing crispness. I think they may charge for tea, but free refills on the pot, and what they charge is fairly nominal.

The servers have been great. They’re mostly college-aged girls who speak English and Mandarin or Cantonese fluently (some only speak Mandarin, not Cantonese, but some speak all 3). We had a different main server than last time, but the same girl who I had last time I was in recognized me as the solo diner from a few weeks earlier. I guess a solo lady dining alone and ordering $30 of food kind of stands out, heh heh.

P1010562

I was thinking of getting something light and squid-y. I was going to go for sauteed squid, but our server really recommended the salt & pepper squid with chili ($12.99). Good as far as salt & pepper squid goes, and there were fine slices of chili to add a little punch of heat.

P1010563

Beef chow fun again, hee hee hee. This wasn’t quite as amazing as the chow fun I got on my last visit from the AoA post – a little less wok hei on everything, but overall it was still a very satisfying dish and a controlled amount of oil.

Beef chow fun is one of the most common dishes my family orders at Chinese restaurants. The beef chow fun at the Hong Kong Bakery & Bistro is especially special to me because the day after my wedding, I went to the Hong Kong Bakery (when it was just a bakery on Central Ave) with Yeh-Yeh and the whole family, and he declared this beef chow fun better than most restaurants in NYC. And Hong Kong Bakery & Bistro has managed to keep this recipe consistent over the years. I love that. A little bite, a little memory.

Still better than a lot of beef chow fun from restaurants in NYC Chinatowns.

P1010564

My dad picked grouper fillets with fresh veggies ($14.99), and they were delicate, tender fillets. Chinese broccoli as the green veggie, still nice and firm with a little crunch.

P1010565

Food in progress. Salt & pepper shrimp on the left, chow fun top right, and grouper fillets bottom right.

P1010566

Baby bok choy as a veggie side. My dad wanted more greenery with dinner, and these were delicious. Lightly oiled, tender greens, and firm but pliable stalks. The garlic was intense – it was ever so lightly cooked, so I made sure Albany John had a few bulbs, too. I want to say that this was “Sauteed Seasonal Vegetable w. Garlic” for $9.99, but our server put the bill slightly closer to my dad, and he snagged the bill right up. Thanks, Dad!

My only regret is that we didn’t go for dim sum, because then I could have ordered ALL OF THE CHEUNG FAN!

Ah well, next time.

Leave a Reply

