Homemade Butter

P1010664

Unsalted butter is a great treat, but rather hard to find with out “Natural Flavoring” in the list of ingredients. Seriously, check the label. It’s really hard to find an unsalted butter in supermarkets. There may be one available in the organic section, but sometimes not (or they’re out).

I decided to try to make my own cultured butter without any “natural flavoring”. My own results were… successfully interesting. I’ve made regular butter plenty of times as a kid – just shake cream until it turns to butter. But by lightly fermenting it with a starter, you can make a more flavorful cultured butter.

P1010630

I went to the Co-Op for cream from Meadow Brook Farms. $1.69 per cup. I bought 8 cups because I’m a cautious over-purchaser like that.

P1010636

You don’t need a scale, but I wanted to make sure I had my initial measurements straight. I only used 4 cups of butter.

P1010641

4 cups of cream purchased, a little over 4 c of cream yielded.

P1010637

Each cup was a little more generous than .5 lbs, so instead of 2 lbs of cream even, I wound up with almost an extra ounce of cream. So, very close to .25 oz extra per 1 cup container.

P1010643

So for cultured butter, you add something with live cultures in it. Some yogurt, or buttermilk, usually. I always have yogurt in the fridge, and picked up a Greek Gods yogurt from the Co-Op, too. It was on sale, and I think this is where my experiment may have gone a bit awry.

P1010644

The Greek Gods regular yogurt is really thick and creamy. Albany John tried a bowl and had trouble finishing it because “It’s thicker and richer than butter,”. For our household, it’s definitely not an eating yogurt, but more of a cooking yogurt. And it has pectin as a stabilizer in it, which I’m not fond of. It is so thick, the pectin is really unnecessary. And I think it bound too much with the liquids in my butter making.

Well, that’s what I get for not reading the container.

P1010645

Any way, toss a few tablespoons in (I did about 6 T of yogurt for 4 cups of cream, or 1.5T per cup), cover, and leave on your counter for about 24 hours, or until the top of the cream looks thick and maybe has a few bubbles.

P1010648

Then it’s time to whip it! I just used my electric hand mixer to turn this into butter. I was surprised at how little buttermilk it yielded.

P1010651 P1010653

I figured I’d just press it out, and save the buttermilk for later iterations of cultured butter.

P1010654

Um, buttermilk. Is that all?

P1010655

Seriously? 1 tablespoon of buttermilk? That’s all I get?? Buttermilk is usually a 50-60% yield when making butter. I was expecting a pound of buttermilk. So, I am thinking this is where that pectin in the yogurt started to mess with the buttermilk retention in my butter making.

P1010657

I washed the butter a few times. Maybe I have hot hands, but I also had a hard time getting it to firm up.

P1010658 P1010659

Wash, wash, wash. So much butter. Basically 2 lbs of whipped butter.

P1010660

Hello Kitty butter molds, because why not?

P1010662

The butter had a nice fluffy, whipped texture, and I enjoyed it salted and unsalted. I wrapped some up in parchment paper to make my own butter logs. But I wish more buttermilk came out…

P1010665

Rye bread as butter vehicle.

P1010667 P1010668

I made some 5 minute bread and the chewy rye flour with white AP flour was a nice nutty bready excuse for slathering tons of butter on each slice.

2 comments
  1. That looks a little creamier than when I have done this process. Did you hear the tell tale “thunk” in the blender? I would maybe next time let it go even further in the blender next time. Maybe it is just the temp. or cream you used but by the pictures that looks a bit “creamier” than what I would expect. I would use it up as quick as possible because if there is excess buttermilk in there it will spoil pretty quickly. Here is a picture of when I made it once, see how it is yellow and sort of “grainy.”

  2. Could this have turned out to be some kind of variant of cream cheese?

    Whatever it is, bless your heart for taking a stand against flavorings added to supermarket food. It’s another reason to always, always read the label.

Leave a Reply

