Cinnamon Donut Loaf

P1020572

Fall is here. What comforts you in this weather? Big bowls of soup? This weekend I was thinking of cinnamon. Cinnamon used to be low on my list of spices, but lately I’ve been digging Penzys’ Cinnamon mix. It’s a blend of China, Vietnamese, Korintje, and Ceylon cinnamon. It’s got warmth, kick, and brightness. I know A Southern Grace loves cinnamon as much as I love Hello Kitty. I guess our palates can change over time.

I’ve been so busy with house stuff lately that baking has seemed like this overwhelming task, but this recipe is quick and easy to make – mix it all in one bowl. I didn’t know there would be so many “must” fixes when owning a house and the fun stuff like baking and cosmetic replacements would have to wait until, say, a bathroom floor got put in. But still, I’m lucky to have these decision and repairs to make.

P1020568

I’m still loving Chobani greek yogurt and wanted to incorporate that in a loaf to cut some fat, increase protein, and increase tenderness. This is probably a mix of coffee cake, donut, and quick bread. I still don’t eat wheat as much as I used to, but this was a springy, soft, comforting nibble in the morning.

One benefit of this weather is that I can leave it outside on the patio fence to cool off quickly. If you slice into baked goods without letting them cool off, more moisture will evaporate from the cut and the good overall will be drier than if it’d cooled off on its own (whole).

Enjoy this with a piping hot cup of tea, coffee, or even a scoop of ice cream.

P1020569

Cinnamon Donut Loaf Recipe
Dry
2 C AP Flour
1.5 t baking soda
1.5 t baking soda
pinch salt
1/2 C white sugar
1 T cinnamon

Wet
1.5 C greek yogurt
2 eggs
2 T maple syrup
2 T melted butter or oil

Streusel Topping
2 T melted butter
1/3 C white sugar
1 t cinnamon

Mix dry ingredients together. Make a well in the bowl, then add the wet ingredients, stir to combine.
Put in an 8″x8″ square baking pan.
Top with melted butter, cinnamon, & sugar mixture.
Bake 350F until a toothpick comes out cleanly from the center, about 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

