My Montgomery Ward Beasty Oven-Microwave-Range Doozy

P1020836

Meet the old micowave-oven-range combo that came with the house. I thought I’d save a few bucks by requesting the oven with house, which did work to a marginal degree – I managed to put off buying a new cooking unit for a few months and let me toss some money into other household projects in the meanwhile. Any way, this post is about the oven that was. It was epically beasty.

When I was looking around for new ovens, Sears told me that I had to tell them the outlet style, so I pulled the oven out of the wall to check. Which was a major tough one, since the previous owner had the newer pergo flooring (why, gosh, why?!) installed around the oven, which meant there was a slight lip on the ground. Combine that with the almost ZERO amount of wiggle room around the cabinets, I had to lift and pull creatively. I managed to employ a crowbar and some cardboard as a lever, but holy cow, it took me about 30 minutes just to get the oven as you see pictured above.

P1020810
This is why I wanted to hustle on getting a new oven. It was clean when I moved in, and then I kept noticing metal shaving-type things on the floor of the oven. And when I looked up, oh, it turns out they WERE metal shavings. Because the ceiling of the oven was deteriorating.

P1020806

Yay, free iron in my food. The electric coils also moved like crazy, and I was pretty sure I was going to accidentally snap one off when cleaning.
P1020805

Another funny thing about this oven – the range was a normal size, but it turns out the oven itself was micro-sized. I found that one out when I went to bake some cookies and the sheet wouldn’t fit one way!

P1020803

Each level only had room for one cookie sheet. How crazy, right? And just everything inside was so delicate. I’m impressed that they had this oven for as long as they did, as the previous owners had 7 kids. I think this is a good two-or-three person oven, but maybe that’s a sign of how times and eating habits have changed. Still couldn’t see much of a turkey fitting in there, though.

So after I discovered the metal deteriorating issues, I figured I’d just bake stuff on the top range coils. And one of the big coils had broken. Argh.

P1020723

Oh well, a burden to bear, right? So here’s what I ate a lot of leading up to getting a new oven. Steaks from Roma (and let me tell you, I love their discount section! I can just pop in every day, see what meats are nearing their end, and my dinner selection is all set. These NY strips were like $6.99/lb!)

P1020724

Boiled potatoes for…

P1020726

Duck fat potatoes with steak and microwaved asparagus (don’t judge me, homeownership has made me such a frozen-veggie eater lately. Okay, you can judge me).

P1020733

Pan fried swai with dumplings

P1020735 P1020790

Mackerel from the fish monger at the Schenectady greenmarket. These two little fillets wound up only being $3.00.

P1020797

And they seared up nicely, and were tasty with mashed parsnips.

P1020793

Ricotta cavitelli with broccoli raab and romano.

P1020800

But srsly, fish.

Leave a Reply

