Grilling in Winter

P1040161

Snow can’t stop me from bringing the heat! I shoveled out the grill, cleaned her off, and smoked up some pork shoulder and ribs. As you can see, one of her wheels got lost in all of this snow somewhere along the way.

P1040145

The night before I’d picked up some baby back ribs at Roma. Just a bit over $5 for a half rack. Not too shabby. Sure beats restaurant prices.

P1040146

And I also can’t say no to $2.99/lb pork shoulder.

P1040149

I made my own rib rub up. A little spicy kick, but nothing outrageous.

P1040152

Rubbed liberally on both pieces of pork, and let them sit over night.

P1040156
P1040157

Here they are after a night in the fridge.
P1040154

Coals got all nice & toasty.
P1040158

Dumped the coals over half of the bottom of the grill with some applewood chips in tin foil on top of the coals.. Put a pan on the other side to catch any meat drips.

P1040160

The porky duo hangs out above the pan, and then I cover the grill, shaking the bottom occasionally to release the dead ashes which clog up air flow. Wound up putting another chimney of coals on here.
P1040166

Ribs smoked for about 5 hours before hunger set in. Good amount of smoke, I probably could have let them go another 30 minutes with some sauce, but overall I’m happy with how they came out.
P1040169

The pork shoulder I let go for about 7 hours. Nice bark formation on the outside. Planning on using some of the fattier bits for split pea soup

 

Pork rib recipe here:

P1040153

2 comments
  1. llcwine said:

    I had all good intentions of doing as you did today….alas,,,,,I didn’t and am now regretting it as your smoking looks fabulous…love Roma….and that’s where I usually get my wood chips as they have a wide assortment to try including on occasion, cherry and maple….would love to get oak or pecan to try.

Leave a Reply

