Dry Aged Australian Ribeye

P1040753

Adventure in Food had a rockin’ special in April for a full Australian grassfed ribeye roast for $5.99/lb. Yes. So yes. We grilled it up for Albany John’s birthday in May. It was an awesome and affordable way to go all out for any occasion.
P1040726

Here’s what the full roast looked like unfrozen and out of the vac bag. Yep, that’s one whole ribeye roast alright. This was a hefty guy, something close to 15 lbs, if I recall.

P1040727

Underside. I wanted to try dry aging this in our fridge. Salted the outside liberally, and tucked it in the fridge as pictured on cooling racks, turning every few days.
P1040737

Mr. Beefers after a few days in the fridge shortly before go-time. It took up about half of a row in my fridge, and after a few days I started talking to it and calling it Mr. Beefers. “Good morning, Mr. Beefers,” and “My, you’re looking well today, Mr. Beefers!”

At this point I wasn’t sure how well the experiment would turn out. Would Mr. Beefers acquire an off flavor from the fridge? Would it make any difference?

P1040741

A few hours over indirect heat on the grill (and covered on occasion). I didn’t carve anything off before slapping it on the grill. Once it hit rare, it came off the grill. And as you can see from the first image, I didn’t screw it up and cook it well done!
P1040749

And then we play the waiting game.
P1040751

It was an intensely beefy flavor, to be sure, although I’m not sure how much was from the dry aging or the grilling. However, I did slice off two large hunks so Mr. Beefers would fit on the grill, so I’ll give you a heads up if I notice something spiritual going on when it’s not kissed with smoky goodness. Overall, it was an awesome way to feed a crowd of 15+ people (with leftovers for seemingly EVER) for under $100. Definitely check out Adventure in Food’s specials page for deals like this when they come up.

4 comments
  1. Deanna said:

    WHAT? You can’t find a price that good for even lesser quality ribeye!

  2. Oh, how I wish we had a bandsaw that could cut through a fifteen pound frozen grassfed beef rib roast. I don’t think dry-aging my own Mr. Beefers in the fridge is something Mrs. Fussy could get behind. Dammit. Fortunately, she has other redeeming qualities.

  3. Lorres said:

    Wow. Just wow. Thanks for the encouragement to go to Adventures in Food again. I haven’t been in years, since they changed their retail arrangement. Now I’m going to put the hawk eye on their specials. And yes, I need to know about the refrigerator taste/or not too.

Leave a Reply

