Athos

P1050327

Finally managed to check out Athos in Guilderland! A lot of their main dishes seemed a bit big for dinner in the summer, so Albany John and I just ordered a lot of appetizers to share. 3 dips for $10. We got Melitsanosalata, Fava, and Tarmosalata. They also served a freebie dish of olive tapenade. I think the dips could have been saltier, but overall they were pleasant. Also, not enough pita for the dips. We probably could have used 2x the amount of pita for the dips given. Which is crazy, because it looks like it’s a lot of pita when you get the basket, but the slices are not that big.
P1050328

Sagnaki – cheese flambeed table-side. How can I not love this?

P1050330

Grilled octopus was okay. Came out chopped into small pieces.
P1050331

Not really sure if I’d get this again. I think I overhyped this in my mind, mainly because I love octopus and I don’t know of too many other places in the area that list a whole octopus leg on the menu.
P1050333

However, the calamari ($10) will totally bring me back. It comes with a spicy citrus oil or marinara, which we noticed after putting in our order. There is no default, though when we asked our server, he said he put in the citrus order.

The exterior was shatteringly crisp, and the calamari meat inside was buttery and tender. So easy to eat lots of it. And the citrusy oil was a very nice contrast of bitter lemon (though not at all spicy).
P1050334

Island Kefetethes, $8 – zucchini, feta, onion, and dill vegetable patties. The accompanying yogurt sauce didn’t complement it and masked a lot of the delicate dill flavor.

The main dishes seemed a bit too heavy for me, at least during the summer time, so a dinner of appetizers was right up my alley.

The service I experienced was perhaps a bit too casual and chatty for the atmosphere. It was pretty dead when we were there, and I had to remind my server about my drink order, and the check was dropped without offering dessert (which I could have asked for, but eh, once the check is dropped, I tend to just want to pay the bill and leave). There was also a request for email addresses for their mailing list, which just seems more on par with a restaurant that doesn’t seem as… upscale? My favored way to interact with restaurants via social media is either on Facebook or Twitter, and don’t worry – I’ll find you.

So. Overall, I’d probably go back to the bar and snack on calamari.

2 comments
  1. llcwine said:

    I was there with the hubs on Tuesday night for a special occasion dinner and the place was packed by the time we left at 8, We shared the stuffed peppers with creamy feta…which was incredible…I think you like things saltier than I do…as I loved the tapenade and found the melted feta to be perfect and not too salty. We each had our own seafood entrees…which though they shared the same ingredients, were totally different based upon saucing and preparation…both delish!!! No room for dessert…Nick our waiter was nice…a bit chatty, but not overly so. I’m sure you could have asked for more pita since you had the three spreads.

    I too would like to go back and eat in the cocktail area for tapas….

    • Oh, I definitely err on the side of salty. Their bar menu also looks up my alley, too.

Leave a Reply

