Smoked Brisket

P1060104

What better of a way to celebrate one year of being in the house than smoking up a brisket for friends?
P1060074

I picked up a whole Naturewell beef brisket from Restaurant Depot for about $3.50/lb. This about about 13-15 lbs, as I recall.
P1060075

And barely fit on the meat cutting board.
P1060078

I measured it and realized it wouldn’t fit on the Weber grill, so I sliced it in half, trying to get the flat and the point separated. I did a pretty shitty job of it, but well, the cut was made.
P1060079

Just did a simple salt, pepper, sugar rub, maybe a bit of paprika and cumin. Rubbed it the night before, wrapped it, and let it sit before getting ready to smoke.
P1060081
P1060082
P1060085

Trimmed out the hunk of fat from the middle of the point section.
P1060091

Then also rubbed and wrapped.
P1060092

Cutting it in two made it a lot easier to store in the fridge, at least.
P1060103

And then, well, I woke up around 4/5 AM to start the coals, topped with apple wood chips, brushed every few hours with apple cider, and… I must have started it a bit hot because it hit temp around 10/11 AM! I was expecting a 12 hour smoke. I was pretty sure I’d effed it up, and hard, but I wrapped it in foil and held it at 190/200F in the oven until it was ready to serve.
P1060104

It didn’t turn out too bad. I’d realized I picked the most difficult type of beef to smoke for a large crowd with no experience in smoking it before. Not a great idea on my part, but it turned out okay. Not dry, and pretty smoky! I’m happy about that for a first try. It also went surprisingly fast, so it must have been pretty acceptable to my crowd, too.

5 comments
  1. Tom said:

    i never realized we even had a Restaurant Depot locally. out of curiosity, how did you gain entry? thought it was business only?

    • Yep – there’s one in Colonie on Warehouse Row behind Target.

      Re: Entry. Oh, I have my ways.

  2. llcwine said:

    Very cool…and looks good…it’s hard on that Weber grill…I’m impressed with your ambition

  3. more than pretty acceptable! it was delicious. the apple tree that keeps on giving 🙂

  4. phairhead said:

    It was TASTY

Leave a Reply

