Oatmeal Toasting Sandwich Loaf (All Bread Flour)

20151129_171206[1]

Breadku:

This is tasty bread
What I wanted homemade bread
to be as a child

20151129_171243[1]

Homemade bread was always great as a kid for the first hour or two out of the oven, until it turned into a hard, grainy and dry loaf later on. But these were the dark ages. Days without internet feedback with trial and error, and documented recipe nuances. I recently had a flashback of this when I tried some bread made in a bread machine at a demo, with that familiar toughness and dryness. The kind that leads to cotton mouth and easily gives way to crumbs.
This oatmeal toasting/sandwich bread from King Arthur Flour is what I always wanted in a homemade loaf of bread. It turned out wonderfully. It uses all bread flour, and a hearty cup of oats. The bread stays soft after you cut it. All hand kneaded and baked over here. I remain skeptical of a bread machine’s ability to put out a decent loaf of bread, even sandwich bread.

Half of this loaf went to a dear friend. The rest I sliced up for ease of consumption (while the Mr cringes at my knife skills, I still remain the only one in our household who is able to slice an even slice of bread from a loaf). It retained moisture overnight and made for both good toast and sandwich bread the next day. Even pre-cut it retained moisture and pliancy. Consider this a sandwich bread we’ll keep on rotation in our kitchen.

20151129_171418[1]

I tweaked the recipe ever so slightly, using 1 T molasses and 1.5 T sugar in place of the 3 T sugar, and approximately 2.5-2.75 C of bread flour in total (2 mixed in initially, the remainder added during hand kneading).  Butter slathered on top for a nice and soft loaf overall. Seriously, that interior was nicely springy and soft.

2 comments
  1. I’ve been using a bread machine to make bread…a LOT of bread…for about 16 years (yikes, that stings a bit). Two actually, I killed one and had to replace it 4 or 5 years ago. I’ve baked dozens of loaves in a machine, mainly using recipes designed for a bread machine. However, I’ve made hundreds of loaves with the machine doing the mixing and kneading and then I do a final rise and bake in a variety of bread pans, and while it’s a little more work, it’s definitely a good thing to have the extra control over things by baking in the oven. I think it was Consumer Reports that tested hand kneaded vs. stand mixer vs. bread machine for kneading and the bread machine was consistently the most…consistent. Still, definitely a commitment to have another appliance hanging around that you’re not even baking in unless you use it a lot to make it worthwhile.

    • Good to know! The temptation of having my own bread mixer is strong, but you sure called it on the counter space. Why is it such premium real estate in my kitchen?!

Leave a Reply

